About Friends of the Earth Melbourne

Friends of the Earth Melbourne believes that social and environmental issues cannot be separated from each other. As a result, FoE is a social and environmental justice organisation. We seek to work toward a sustainable and equitable future, and to operate in a way that empowers individuals and communities. This means that FoE operates on a collective basis, and utilises the consensus decision-making model.

FoE campaigns from the local to global level: we are part of the FoE Australia network, which currently includes eight local groups around the country. FoE Australia is, in turn, a member of FoE International, which is now active in more than 70 countries.

about_us_pic.jpg

Collectively, the FoE network is the largest environmental federation in the world. It has around 5,000 local branches, including those in Australia. Member groups at the national level are autonomous, leading to a great diversity within the network. FoE International is active on many of the key global environmental and social issues.

Please check here for our privacy policy.

Annual reports

Annual report for 20172016, 2015, 20142013, 2012, 2011, 2010.

If you need an annual report prior to these dates, please email cam.walker@foe.org.au for a copy.

 

Funding and fundraising

Each campaign sets its own goals and is ultimately responsible for fundraising, and reports to strategy collective. The campaign planning is co-ordinated through bi annual whole of organisation planning meetings.

Friends of the Earth Melbourne is a Charitable Institution and is registered as having Deductible Gift Recipient status, meaning it can provide tax deductible receipts for donations over $2.

Read a copy of our prospectus here.

You can donate here.

Check our annual reports (above and below) for financial reports and details on our sources of income.

 

In recent years we have received financial support from the following businesses.

 

Via the environment grants program.

 

 

FoE staff and volunteers

Campaigns office

The office is open 10am til 6pm, Monday to Friday, and is located above the FoE Food Co-op at 312 Smith St, Collingwood.

Ph: (03) 9419 8700  (outside Melbourne): 1300 852 081

Email: foe@foe.org.au

Development Coordinator: Phil Evans phil.evans@foe.org.au

Membership and Fundraising Coordinator: Jemila Rushton jemila.rushton@foe.org.au

Finances Coordinator: Tara Stevenson tara.stevenson@foe.org.au

Operations Coordinator: Samantha Castro sam.castro@foe.org.au 

Campaigns Coordinator/ Media: Cam Walker - cam.walker@foe.org.au  0419 338 047

Communications and Digital Coordinator: Kat Moore - kat.moore@foe.org.au


Collectives:

Climate campaigns

Unconventional gas and climate: Cam Walker - cam.walker@foe.org.au

Quit Coal: info@quitcoal.org.au Co-ordinator: Zia Faud - zianna.fuad@foe.org.au 

Yes 2 Renewables: Pat Simons - patrick.simons@foe.org.au - 0415 789 961

Act on Climate: Leigh Ewbank - leigh.ewbank@foe.org.au - 0406 316 176

Forests:

Campaign Coordinator - Ed Hill - ed.hill@foe.org.au

Collective Coordinator: Maggie Riddington - maggie.riddington@foe.org.au 

Community Campaigner: Sarah Day - sarah.day@foe.org.au

River Country: Covering inland rivers and waterways: Megan Williams -  megan.williams@foe.org.au

Mapuche Aboriginal Solidarity for Indigenous Land (MASIL): Marisol Salinas - marisol.salinas@foe.org.au

Ace Nuclear Free Collective: AC Hunter - ace@foe.org.au

Pesticide Free Waterways: Anthony Amis - ajamis50@gmail.com

Strzelecki Koala Action Team: Anthony Amis - ajamis50@gmail.com

Waste and Consumption: Anine Cummins - anine.cummins@foe.org.au

Sustainable Cities: Rachel Lynskey - rachel.lynskey@foe.org.au

Food co-operative
Co-ordinator: Beth Cameron - food@foe.org.au 03 9419 8700 (ext 05)

 

National staff based in Melbourne:

Anti Nuclear campaigner: Jim Green - jim.green@foe.org.au

Our partners

We are a local group of Friends of the Earth Australia, which has membership in a range of alliances and organisations. You can find details on these here.

Locally we work closely with the following people and organisations:

On campaigns and community projects, our partners include-

* Australian Conservation Foundation
* Australian Student Environment Network (ASEN)
* Beyond Zero Emissions
* City of Yarra, via the community grants program
* Climate Action Network Australia (CANA)
* Environment Victoria
* Environmental Justice Australia
* Get Up!
* Goongerah Environment Centre (GECO)
* Mt Alexander Solar Homes (MASH)
* The Boomerang Alliance
* The Sustainable Living Foundation
* The Wilderness Society
* Victorian National Parks Association
* Victorian Trades Hall Council and many individual unions.

We are a signatory to a Memorandum of Understanding with The Murray Lower Darling Rivers Indigenous Nations (MLDRIN).

Previous collaborations

Working with Carbon Equity, we established the Climate Action Centre in Carlton.

In 2010, FoE helped launch the Transition Decade (T10). T10is a non-partisan shared campaign which is coordinated by an alliance of groups. Groups guiding the campaign include: Friends of the Earth Australia, Beyond Zero Emissions, the Climate Emergency Network and the Sustainable Living Foundation. http://www.t10.net.au/

FoEM management

FoEM is an incorporated body in the state of Victoria. It is managed on a day-to-day basis by the strategy collective, which meets monthly and is composed of representatives of the campaigns.

A Committee of Management (CoM) - known as the Policy Advisory Committee or PAC - is appointed at the AGM and has oversight for long term planning, accountability and finances. All members of FoEM are welcome to stand for the CoM. The AGM is generally held in November.

The current CoM is:

Rob Lucas

Dave Robinson

Rodney Vlais

Cam Walker

Samantha Castro

Beth Cameron

Jemila Rushton

Lee Tan

Kat Moore

Peter Callender