Skip navigation

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan to ensure we make the deepest emissions cuts we can this decade... but neither major party currently has the full set of policies needed to meet our 2030 Climate Target. Will you sign our petition calling for both major parties to commit to a complete 2030 Climate Plan?


The Hon. Daniel Andrews MP, Premier of Victoria
The Hon. Lily D’Ambrosio MP, Victorian Minister for Climate, Energy & Environment
The Hon. Matthew Guy MP, Victorian Opposition Leader
Mr James Newbury MP, Shadow Minister for Climate & Environment

We are facing a climate and ecological crisis. Over the last few years, communities across Victoria have battled intensifying impacts of climate change - from bushfires, to extreme weather events, to coastal erosion caused by rising sea levels.

Victoria is two years into a decade of transformation to tackle the global climate crisis. The state has committed to halve its greenhouse gas emissions and deliver 50% of its electricity from renewable energy sources by 2030.

While some of the foundation stones for this transformation are in place, neither major party yet has a full set of policies that would meet our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target.

Additionally, we know that when it comes to cutting emissions, the heaviest lift must be done this decade in order to limit global temperatures to 1.5°C. Policies to cut emissions should have the goal of not only meeting, but exceeding, our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target in order to align with the best available climate science.

The state election on 26 November, 2022, is an opportunity for all parties to demonstrate how they will manage the society-wide transformation required in a way that will lead to economic opportunities, job creation, and create a pathway for Victoria to contribute towards global efforts to achieve a safe climate and avoid catastrophic impacts. 

Will both major parties commit to a full plan to meet and beat our state 2030 Climate Target?

We call on you to implement the following five key policies to make deep emissions cuts this decade:

  • Assist Victorian homes and businesses to get off polluting fossil gas usage by 2030 by planning for a swift retirement of the gas transmission network.
  • Increase Victoria’s renewable energy target to ramp up jobs and investment in onshore renewables, community energy and offshore wind.
  • Deliver a just transition plan for the Latrobe Valley that creates new economic opportunities in renewable energy and other climate solutions.
  • Bring forward the deadline for the end of native forest logging and increase support for regional communities to make the economic transition required.
  • Upgrade Victoria’s bus fleet to be 100% electric by 2030, with a focus on increased services in Melbourne’s outer suburbs.

State elections are an opportunity to steer the state towards a better future with new ambitious ideas. The government elected to lead Victoria for the next four years will have the responsibility of accelerating our emissions reduction pathway in this crucial decade. 

Voters will be watching to see which party presents the strongest plan to act on the climate crisis, with the urgency required to make our communities, ecosystems, jobs, economy, and infrastructure more resilient and sustainable.

Who's signing
Michael Palmer
David Laing
Peter Monie
Beverley Thompson
Judith Guantai
Robyn McCluggage
Annette Williams
Jane Moulin
Linda Pickering
Vikki King
Daniella Ruff
Fiona Simondson
David Falconer
Gwyneth Salisbury
Bea Kostera
Gordon Moss
Peter Kealey
Jen Moses
Leigh Adamson
George Crisp
Trevor Salvado
Rosalind Byass
Greg Dixon
Lyn Hovey
Derek Ryan
Caroline Langer
John Hughes
Roberta Abba
Terry Frewin
Terry Butterworth

1,000 Signatures

493 Signatures

Will you sign?

Showing reactions

  • Michael Palmer
    signed 2022-08-11 11:27:38 +1000
  • David Laing
    signed 2022-08-11 11:23:27 +1000
  • Peter Monie
    signed 2022-08-11 11:07:05 +1000
  • Beverley Thompson
    signed 2022-08-11 11:06:05 +1000
  • Judith Guantai
    signed 2022-08-11 10:59:01 +1000
  • Robyn McCluggage
    signed 2022-08-11 10:18:05 +1000
  • Annette Williams
    signed via 2022-08-11 10:09:27 +1000
  • Jane Moulin
    signed 2022-08-11 10:06:23 +1000
  • Linda Pickering
    signed 2022-08-11 10:05:58 +1000
  • Vikki King
    signed via 2022-08-11 09:48:52 +1000
  • Daniella Ruff
    signed 2022-08-11 09:47:27 +1000
  • Fiona Simondson
    signed 2022-08-11 09:44:41 +1000
  • David Falconer
    signed 2022-08-11 09:41:22 +1000
  • Gwyneth Salisbury
    signed via 2022-08-11 09:30:47 +1000
  • Bea Kostera
    signed 2022-08-11 09:30:35 +1000
  • Gordon Moss
    signed 2022-08-11 09:29:22 +1000
  • Peter Kealey
    signed 2022-08-11 09:26:15 +1000
  • Jen Moses
    signed 2022-08-11 09:25:01 +1000
  • Leigh Adamson
    signed 2022-08-11 09:21:03 +1000
  • George Crisp
    signed 2022-08-11 09:03:47 +1000
  • Trevor Salvado
    signed 2022-08-11 08:53:42 +1000
  • Rosalind Byass
    signed 2022-08-11 08:52:14 +1000
  • Greg Dixon
    signed 2022-08-11 08:24:04 +1000
  • Lyn Hovey
    signed 2022-08-11 08:23:36 +1000
  • Derek Ryan
    signed 2022-08-11 08:19:41 +1000
  • Caroline Langer
    signed 2022-08-11 07:59:45 +1000
  • John Hughes
    signed via 2022-08-11 07:55:17 +1000
  • Roberta Abba
    signed 2022-08-11 07:49:32 +1000
  • Terry Frewin
    signed 2022-08-11 07:29:36 +1000
  • Terry Butterworth
    signed 2022-08-11 07:29:31 +1000