Skip navigation

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan to ensure we make the deepest emissions cuts we can this decade... but neither major party currently has the full set of policies needed to meet our 2030 Climate Target. Will you sign our petition calling for both major parties to commit to a complete 2030 Climate Plan?


The Hon. Daniel Andrews MP, Premier of Victoria
The Hon. Lily D’Ambrosio MP, Victorian Minister for Climate, Energy & Environment
The Hon. Matthew Guy MP, Victorian Opposition Leader
Mr James Newbury MP, Shadow Minister for Climate & Environment

We are facing a climate and ecological crisis. Over the last few years, communities across Victoria have battled intensifying impacts of climate change - from bushfires, to extreme weather events, to coastal erosion caused by rising sea levels.

Victoria is two years into a decade of transformation to tackle the global climate crisis. The state has committed to halve its greenhouse gas emissions and deliver 50% of its electricity from renewable energy sources by 2030.

While some of the foundation stones for this transformation are in place, neither major party yet has a full set of policies that would meet our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target.

Additionally, we know that when it comes to cutting emissions, the heaviest lift must be done this decade in order to limit global temperatures to 1.5°C. Policies to cut emissions should have the goal of not only meeting, but exceeding, our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target in order to align with the best available climate science.

The state election on 26 November, 2022, is an opportunity for all parties to demonstrate how they will manage the society-wide transformation required in a way that will lead to economic opportunities, job creation, and create a pathway for Victoria to contribute towards global efforts to achieve a safe climate and avoid catastrophic impacts. 

Will both major parties commit to a full plan to meet and beat our state 2030 Climate Target?

We call on you to implement the following five key policies to make deep emissions cuts this decade:

  • Assist Victorian homes and businesses to get off polluting fossil gas usage by 2030 by planning for a swift retirement of the gas transmission network.
  • Increase Victoria’s renewable energy target to ramp up jobs and investment in onshore renewables, community energy and offshore wind.
  • Deliver a just transition plan for the Latrobe Valley that creates new economic opportunities in renewable energy and other climate solutions.
  • Bring forward the deadline for the end of native forest logging and increase support for regional communities to make the economic transition required.
  • Upgrade Victoria’s bus fleet to be 100% electric by 2030, with a focus on increased services in Melbourne’s outer suburbs.

State elections are an opportunity to steer the state towards a better future with new ambitious ideas. The government elected to lead Victoria for the next four years will have the responsibility of accelerating our emissions reduction pathway in this crucial decade. 

Voters will be watching to see which party presents the strongest plan to act on the climate crisis, with the urgency required to make our communities, ecosystems, jobs, economy, and infrastructure more resilient and sustainable.

Who's signing
Jarred Abrahams
Peter Hunt
Alistair Macrae
Anthony Holden
Jemma Caddell
Carolyn Masel
Chris McGovern
Peter Temby
Ian Sturup
Sophie O'Bryan
Kylie McIntosh
Karen Sanchez
Sayuri Amemiya
Alan Abrahams
Lee Kemp
Ben Wrigley
Peter Farrar
Peter Allan
Anders Ross
Ray Cowling
John Bartlett
Kimberley Miter
Bronwyn Johnson
Jeff Butler
Rosalie Schultz
Bronwen Cavallo
Robyn Munro
Janet Fairlie-Cuninghame
Bob Crosbie
Levente Toth

1,000 Signatures

512 Signatures

Will you sign?

Showing reactions

  • Jarred Abrahams
    signed 2022-08-10 14:46:19 +1000
  • Peter Hunt
    signed 2022-08-10 14:45:28 +1000
  • Alistair Macrae
    signed 2022-08-10 14:45:17 +1000
  • Anthony Holden
    signed 2022-08-10 14:44:49 +1000
  • Jemma Caddell
    signed 2022-08-10 14:43:39 +1000
  • Carolyn Masel
    signed 2022-08-10 14:43:05 +1000
  • Chris McGovern
    signed 2022-08-10 14:41:44 +1000
  • Peter Temby
    signed 2022-08-10 14:41:24 +1000
  • Ian Sturup
    signed via 2022-08-10 14:41:18 +1000
  • Sophie O'Bryan
    signed 2022-08-10 14:41:04 +1000
  • Kylie McIntosh
    signed 2022-08-10 14:40:28 +1000
  • Karen Sanchez
    signed 2022-08-10 14:40:06 +1000
  • Sayuri Amemiya
    signed 2022-08-10 14:39:12 +1000
  • Alan Abrahams
    signed 2022-08-10 14:38:30 +1000
  • Lee Kemp
    signed 2022-08-10 14:37:57 +1000
  • Ben Wrigley
    signed 2022-08-10 14:36:48 +1000
  • Peter Farrar
    signed 2022-08-10 14:36:00 +1000
  • Peter Allan
    signed 2022-08-10 14:35:09 +1000
  • Anders Ross
    signed 2022-08-10 14:35:08 +1000
  • Ray Cowling
    signed 2022-08-10 14:35:08 +1000
  • John Bartlett
    signed 2022-08-10 14:33:57 +1000
  • Kimberley Miter
    signed 2022-08-10 14:33:44 +1000
  • Bronwyn Johnson
    signed 2022-08-10 14:33:13 +1000
  • Jeff Butler
    signed 2022-08-10 14:32:33 +1000
  • Rosalie Schultz
    signed 2022-08-10 14:32:30 +1000
  • Bronwen Cavallo
    signed 2022-08-10 14:32:24 +1000
  • Robyn Munro
    signed 2022-08-10 14:31:52 +1000
  • Janet Fairlie-Cuninghame
    signed 2022-08-10 14:31:37 +1000
  • Bob Crosbie
    signed 2022-08-10 14:31:13 +1000
  • Levente Toth
    signed 2022-08-10 14:30:25 +1000