Skip navigation

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan to ensure we make the deepest emissions cuts we can this decade... but neither major party currently has the full set of policies needed to meet our 2030 Climate Target. Will you sign our petition calling for both major parties to commit to a complete 2030 Climate Plan?


The Hon. Daniel Andrews MP, Premier of Victoria
The Hon. Lily D’Ambrosio MP, Victorian Minister for Climate, Energy & Environment
The Hon. Matthew Guy MP, Victorian Opposition Leader
Mr James Newbury MP, Shadow Minister for Climate & Environment

We are facing a climate and ecological crisis. Over the last few years, communities across Victoria have battled intensifying impacts of climate change - from bushfires, to extreme weather events, to coastal erosion caused by rising sea levels.

Victoria is two years into a decade of transformation to tackle the global climate crisis. The state has committed to halve its greenhouse gas emissions and deliver 50% of its electricity from renewable energy sources by 2030.

While some of the foundation stones for this transformation are in place, neither major party yet has a full set of policies that would meet our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target.

Additionally, we know that when it comes to cutting emissions, the heaviest lift must be done this decade in order to limit global temperatures to 1.5°C. Policies to cut emissions should have the goal of not only meeting, but exceeding, our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target in order to align with the best available climate science.

The state election on 26 November, 2022, is an opportunity for all parties to demonstrate how they will manage the society-wide transformation required in a way that will lead to economic opportunities, job creation, and create a pathway for Victoria to contribute towards global efforts to achieve a safe climate and avoid catastrophic impacts. 

Will both major parties commit to a full plan to meet and beat our state 2030 Climate Target?

We call on you to implement the following five key policies to make deep emissions cuts this decade:

  • Assist Victorian homes and businesses to get off polluting fossil gas usage by 2030 by planning for a swift retirement of the gas transmission network.
  • Increase Victoria’s renewable energy target to ramp up jobs and investment in onshore renewables, community energy and offshore wind.
  • Deliver a just transition plan for the Latrobe Valley that creates new economic opportunities in renewable energy and other climate solutions.
  • Bring forward the deadline for the end of native forest logging and increase support for regional communities to make the economic transition required.
  • Upgrade Victoria’s bus fleet to be 100% electric by 2030, with a focus on increased services in Melbourne’s outer suburbs.

State elections are an opportunity to steer the state towards a better future with new ambitious ideas. The government elected to lead Victoria for the next four years will have the responsibility of accelerating our emissions reduction pathway in this crucial decade. 

Voters will be watching to see which party presents the strongest plan to act on the climate crisis, with the urgency required to make our communities, ecosystems, jobs, economy, and infrastructure more resilient and sustainable.

Who's signing
Iain McGhee
Gavin Cerini
Belinda Lloyd
Mairead Murphy
Peter Cook
Alex Feuchtwanger
Graeme Walters
Maureen Versteden
Heather Patterson
Damien Ziebell
Meryl & Hartley Tobin
Jessica Robertson
Mary Lloyd
Owen Brown
Nick Aagren
Kirsty Richards
Gillian Brailsford
Robert Marston
Sue O’Neill
Meredith Newman Debens
Andrea Kaszick
Jeremy Barrett
Julia Nutting
Tony Massingham
Donna Knight
Vera Hemkes
Fran Smitherman
Jane Stewart
Rhonda Attwood
Sue Ellis

1,000 Signatures

499 Signatures

Will you sign?

Showing reactions

  • Iain McGhee
    signed 2022-08-16 09:23:29 +1000
  • Gavin Cerini
    signed 2022-08-15 20:22:54 +1000
  • Belinda Lloyd
    signed 2022-08-15 18:33:24 +1000
  • Mairead Murphy
    signed 2022-08-15 18:27:15 +1000
  • Peter Cook
    signed via 2022-08-15 16:26:05 +1000
  • Alex Feuchtwanger
    signed 2022-08-15 13:46:09 +1000
  • Graeme Walters
    signed 2022-08-15 12:59:22 +1000
  • Maureen Versteden
    signed 2022-08-15 12:13:36 +1000
  • Heather Patterson
    signed 2022-08-14 23:51:52 +1000
  • Damien Ziebell
    signed 2022-08-14 21:08:16 +1000
  • Meryl & Hartley Tobin
    signed 2022-08-14 16:32:46 +1000
  • Jessica Robertson
    signed 2022-08-14 10:06:20 +1000
  • Mary Lloyd
    signed 2022-08-14 09:57:30 +1000
  • Owen Brown
    signed 2022-08-14 09:37:10 +1000
  • Nick Aagren
    signed 2022-08-14 08:59:24 +1000
  • Kirsty Richards
    signed 2022-08-14 08:05:25 +1000
  • Gillian Brailsford
    signed 2022-08-14 07:05:21 +1000
  • Robert Marston
    signed 2022-08-14 01:08:32 +1000
  • Sue O’Neill
    signed 2022-08-13 20:18:45 +1000
  • Meredith Newman Debens
    signed 2022-08-13 12:46:43 +1000
  • Andrea Kaszick
    signed 2022-08-13 09:05:59 +1000
  • Jeremy Barrett
    signed via 2022-08-13 09:04:29 +1000
  • Julia Nutting
    signed 2022-08-13 01:46:45 +1000
  • Tony Massingham
    signed 2022-08-12 22:31:57 +1000
  • Donna Knight
    signed 2022-08-12 22:02:23 +1000
  • Vera Hemkes
    signed via 2022-08-12 22:00:22 +1000
  • Fran Smitherman
    signed 2022-08-12 21:49:14 +1000
  • Jane Stewart
    signed 2022-08-12 21:26:15 +1000
  • Rhonda Attwood
    signed 2022-08-12 18:11:32 +1000
  • Sue Ellis
    signed 2022-08-12 16:49:01 +1000