Skip navigation

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan to ensure we make the deepest emissions cuts we can this decade... but neither major party currently has the full set of policies needed to meet our 2030 Climate Target. Will you sign our petition calling for both major parties to commit to a complete 2030 Climate Plan?


The Hon. Daniel Andrews MP, Premier of Victoria
The Hon. Lily D’Ambrosio MP, Victorian Minister for Climate, Energy & Environment
The Hon. Matthew Guy MP, Victorian Opposition Leader
Mr James Newbury MP, Shadow Minister for Climate & Environment

We are facing a climate and ecological crisis. Over the last few years, communities across Victoria have battled intensifying impacts of climate change - from bushfires, to extreme weather events, to coastal erosion caused by rising sea levels.

Victoria is two years into a decade of transformation to tackle the global climate crisis. The state has committed to halve its greenhouse gas emissions and deliver 50% of its electricity from renewable energy sources by 2030.

While some of the foundation stones for this transformation are in place, neither major party yet has a full set of policies that would meet our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target.

Additionally, we know that when it comes to cutting emissions, the heaviest lift must be done this decade in order to limit global temperatures to 1.5°C. Policies to cut emissions should have the goal of not only meeting, but exceeding, our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target in order to align with the best available climate science.

The state election on 26 November, 2022, is an opportunity for all parties to demonstrate how they will manage the society-wide transformation required in a way that will lead to economic opportunities, job creation, and create a pathway for Victoria to contribute towards global efforts to achieve a safe climate and avoid catastrophic impacts. 

Will both major parties commit to a full plan to meet and beat our state 2030 Climate Target?

We call on you to implement the following five key policies to make deep emissions cuts this decade:

  • Assist Victorian homes and businesses to get off polluting fossil gas usage by 2030 by planning for a swift retirement of the gas transmission network.
  • Increase Victoria’s renewable energy target to ramp up jobs and investment in onshore renewables, community energy and offshore wind.
  • Deliver a just transition plan for the Latrobe Valley that creates new economic opportunities in renewable energy and other climate solutions.
  • Bring forward the deadline for the end of native forest logging and increase support for regional communities to make the economic transition required.
  • Upgrade Victoria’s bus fleet to be 100% electric by 2030, with a focus on increased services in Melbourne’s outer suburbs.

State elections are an opportunity to steer the state towards a better future with new ambitious ideas. The government elected to lead Victoria for the next four years will have the responsibility of accelerating our emissions reduction pathway in this crucial decade. 

Voters will be watching to see which party presents the strongest plan to act on the climate crisis, with the urgency required to make our communities, ecosystems, jobs, economy, and infrastructure more resilient and sustainable.

Who's signing
Christine Cook
Claire Weekley
Kerry Baker
Heather Murfet
Lawrie Hanson
Hilda Mcleod
Tara Smith
Ro Swan
Annabelle Warren
Colin Brokenshire
Steve Milton
Nicole Drever
Rachel Armstead
Tracey (Trace) Ollis
Olenkka Celina
Hamish Macrae
Jonathan Davies
Elizabeth Heath
Lynda Tomlinson
John Cox
Fabian Lapham
Meredith Kefford
Sylvia Lopic
John Hanson
Diane Routt
Angela Bruckner
HAnnah Aquier
Sanja Van Huet
Gary Moloney
Carly Dober

1,000 Signatures

512 Signatures

Will you sign?

Showing reactions

  • Christine Cook
    signed 2022-08-10 15:20:28 +1000
  • Claire Weekley
    signed 2022-08-10 15:17:33 +1000
  • Kerry Baker
    signed 2022-08-10 15:17:19 +1000
  • Heather Murfet
    signed 2022-08-10 15:17:07 +1000
  • Lawrie Hanson
    signed 2022-08-10 15:14:39 +1000
  • Hilda Mcleod
    signed 2022-08-10 15:13:53 +1000
  • Tara Smith
    signed 2022-08-10 15:13:18 +1000
  • Ro Swan
    signed 2022-08-10 15:12:14 +1000
  • Annabelle Warren
    signed via 2022-08-10 15:12:06 +1000
  • Colin Brokenshire
    signed 2022-08-10 15:11:14 +1000
  • Steve Milton
    signed 2022-08-10 15:10:23 +1000
  • Nicole Drever
    signed 2022-08-10 15:08:21 +1000
  • Rachel Armstead
    signed 2022-08-10 15:06:11 +1000
  • Tracey (Trace) Ollis
    signed 2022-08-10 15:04:34 +1000
  • Olenkka Celina
    signed 2022-08-10 15:02:15 +1000
  • Hamish Macrae
    signed 2022-08-10 14:59:37 +1000
  • Jonathan Davies
    signed 2022-08-10 14:58:22 +1000
  • Elizabeth Heath
    signed 2022-08-10 14:57:35 +1000
  • Lynda Tomlinson
    signed 2022-08-10 14:56:55 +1000
  • John Cox
    signed 2022-08-10 14:55:11 +1000
  • Fabian Lapham
    signed 2022-08-10 14:55:04 +1000
  • Meredith Kefford
    signed 2022-08-10 14:54:02 +1000
  • Sylvia Lopic
    signed 2022-08-10 14:53:22 +1000
  • John Hanson
    signed 2022-08-10 14:52:26 +1000
  • Diane Routt
    signed 2022-08-10 14:50:47 +1000
  • Angela Bruckner
    signed 2022-08-10 14:50:41 +1000
  • HAnnah Aquier
    signed 2022-08-10 14:49:51 +1000
  • Sanja Van Huet
    signed 2022-08-10 14:48:25 +1000
  • Gary Moloney
    signed 2022-08-10 14:47:24 +1000
  • Carly Dober
    signed 2022-08-10 14:47:04 +1000