Skip navigation

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan to ensure we make the deepest emissions cuts we can this decade... but neither major party currently has the full set of policies needed to meet our 2030 Climate Target. Will you sign our petition calling for both major parties to commit to a complete 2030 Climate Plan?


The Hon. Daniel Andrews MP, Premier of Victoria
The Hon. Lily D’Ambrosio MP, Victorian Minister for Climate, Energy & Environment
The Hon. Matthew Guy MP, Victorian Opposition Leader
Mr James Newbury MP, Shadow Minister for Climate & Environment

We are facing a climate and ecological crisis. Over the last few years, communities across Victoria have battled intensifying impacts of climate change - from bushfires, to extreme weather events, to coastal erosion caused by rising sea levels.

Victoria is two years into a decade of transformation to tackle the global climate crisis. The state has committed to halve its greenhouse gas emissions and deliver 50% of its electricity from renewable energy sources by 2030.

While some of the foundation stones for this transformation are in place, neither major party yet has a full set of policies that would meet our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target.

Additionally, we know that when it comes to cutting emissions, the heaviest lift must be done this decade in order to limit global temperatures to 1.5°C. Policies to cut emissions should have the goal of not only meeting, but exceeding, our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target in order to align with the best available climate science.

The state election on 26 November, 2022, is an opportunity for all parties to demonstrate how they will manage the society-wide transformation required in a way that will lead to economic opportunities, job creation, and create a pathway for Victoria to contribute towards global efforts to achieve a safe climate and avoid catastrophic impacts. 

Will both major parties commit to a full plan to meet and beat our state 2030 Climate Target?

We call on you to implement the following five key policies to make deep emissions cuts this decade:

  • Assist Victorian homes and businesses to get off polluting fossil gas usage by 2030 by planning for a swift retirement of the gas transmission network.
  • Increase Victoria’s renewable energy target to ramp up jobs and investment in onshore renewables, community energy and offshore wind.
  • Deliver a just transition plan for the Latrobe Valley that creates new economic opportunities in renewable energy and other climate solutions.
  • Bring forward the deadline for the end of native forest logging and increase support for regional communities to make the economic transition required.
  • Upgrade Victoria’s bus fleet to be 100% electric by 2030, with a focus on increased services in Melbourne’s outer suburbs.

State elections are an opportunity to steer the state towards a better future with new ambitious ideas. The government elected to lead Victoria for the next four years will have the responsibility of accelerating our emissions reduction pathway in this crucial decade. 

Voters will be watching to see which party presents the strongest plan to act on the climate crisis, with the urgency required to make our communities, ecosystems, jobs, economy, and infrastructure more resilient and sustainable.

Who's signing
Claire Capel-Stanley
Mark and Jenny Harwood
Adelae Bowen
Vicky Grosser
Katarina Sluga
Julie Begg
Louise Molloy
Karen Coffield
Ruth Varon-Gerrard
Colleen Coath
Darryl Nelson
Robyn Gray
Sylvia Carr
Neil Rankine
Peter Maddock
John de Figueiredo
Emma Supriyono
Margaret Barnard
Peter Kuestler
Jesper Hansen
Jan Mitchell
Reuben Macdougall Di Manno
Liz Reen
Richard Smart
Mia Trujillo
Victor Komarovsky
Thomas Britz
Maureen Cooper
Dr Christina Flann
Mitzi Tuke

1,000 Signatures

492 Signatures

Will you sign?

Showing reactions

  • Claire Capel-Stanley
    signed 2022-08-12 15:12:07 +1000
  • Mark and Jenny Harwood
    signed 2022-08-12 14:35:50 +1000
  • Adelae Bowen
    signed 2022-08-12 14:14:46 +1000
  • Vicky Grosser
    signed 2022-08-12 13:32:04 +1000
  • Katarina Sluga
    signed 2022-08-12 11:26:02 +1000
  • Julie Begg
    signed via 2022-08-12 11:23:11 +1000
  • Louise Molloy
    signed 2022-08-12 11:10:37 +1000
  • Karen Coffield
    signed 2022-08-12 08:17:25 +1000
  • Ruth Varon-Gerrard
    signed via 2022-08-12 08:01:42 +1000
  • Colleen Coath
    signed 2022-08-12 06:16:12 +1000
  • Darryl Nelson
    signed 2022-08-11 23:09:34 +1000
  • Robyn Gray
    signed 2022-08-11 21:25:56 +1000
  • Sylvia Carr
    signed 2022-08-11 21:20:28 +1000
  • Neil Rankine
    signed 2022-08-11 21:12:48 +1000
  • Peter Maddock
    signed 2022-08-11 18:56:37 +1000
  • John de Figueiredo
    signed 2022-08-11 18:48:36 +1000
  • Emma Supriyono
    signed 2022-08-11 16:47:15 +1000
  • Margaret Barnard
    signed 2022-08-11 15:35:17 +1000
  • Peter Kuestler
    signed 2022-08-11 15:30:00 +1000
  • Jesper Hansen
    signed 2022-08-11 15:16:50 +1000
  • Jan Mitchell
    signed 2022-08-11 15:03:48 +1000
  • Reuben Macdougall Di Manno
    signed 2022-08-11 14:43:13 +1000
  • Liz Reen
    signed 2022-08-11 14:34:20 +1000
  • Richard Smart
    signed 2022-08-11 14:17:56 +1000
  • Mia Trujillo
    signed 2022-08-11 14:13:01 +1000
  • Victor Komarovsky
    signed 2022-08-11 13:37:56 +1000
  • Thomas Britz
    signed 2022-08-11 12:26:40 +1000
  • Maureen Cooper
    signed 2022-08-11 12:00:38 +1000
  • Dr Christina Flann
    signed 2022-08-11 11:55:36 +1000
  • Mitzi Tuke
    signed 2022-08-11 11:51:44 +1000