Skip navigation

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan

Victoria needs a complete 2030 Climate Plan to ensure we make the deepest emissions cuts we can this decade... but neither major party currently has the full set of policies needed to meet our 2030 Climate Target. Will you sign our petition calling for both major parties to commit to a complete 2030 Climate Plan?


The Hon. Daniel Andrews MP, Premier of Victoria
The Hon. Lily D’Ambrosio MP, Victorian Minister for Climate, Energy & Environment
The Hon. Matthew Guy MP, Victorian Opposition Leader
Mr James Newbury MP, Shadow Minister for Climate & Environment

We are facing a climate and ecological crisis. Over the last few years, communities across Victoria have battled intensifying impacts of climate change - from bushfires, to extreme weather events, to coastal erosion caused by rising sea levels.

Victoria is two years into a decade of transformation to tackle the global climate crisis. The state has committed to halve its greenhouse gas emissions and deliver 50% of its electricity from renewable energy sources by 2030.

While some of the foundation stones for this transformation are in place, neither major party yet has a full set of policies that would meet our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target.

Additionally, we know that when it comes to cutting emissions, the heaviest lift must be done this decade in order to limit global temperatures to 1.5°C. Policies to cut emissions should have the goal of not only meeting, but exceeding, our 2030 Emissions Reduction Target in order to align with the best available climate science.

The state election on 26 November, 2022, is an opportunity for all parties to demonstrate how they will manage the society-wide transformation required in a way that will lead to economic opportunities, job creation, and create a pathway for Victoria to contribute towards global efforts to achieve a safe climate and avoid catastrophic impacts. 

Will both major parties commit to a full plan to meet and beat our state 2030 Climate Target?

We call on you to implement the following five key policies to make deep emissions cuts this decade:

  • Assist Victorian homes and businesses to get off polluting fossil gas usage by 2030 by planning for a swift retirement of the gas transmission network.
  • Increase Victoria’s renewable energy target to ramp up jobs and investment in onshore renewables, community energy and offshore wind.
  • Deliver a just transition plan for the Latrobe Valley that creates new economic opportunities in renewable energy and other climate solutions.
  • Bring forward the deadline for the end of native forest logging and increase support for regional communities to make the economic transition required.
  • Upgrade Victoria’s bus fleet to be 100% electric by 2030, with a focus on increased services in Melbourne’s outer suburbs.

State elections are an opportunity to steer the state towards a better future with new ambitious ideas. The government elected to lead Victoria for the next four years will have the responsibility of accelerating our emissions reduction pathway in this crucial decade. 

Voters will be watching to see which party presents the strongest plan to act on the climate crisis, with the urgency required to make our communities, ecosystems, jobs, economy, and infrastructure more resilient and sustainable.

Who's signing
Trish St Clair
Neil Earnshaw
Judy Gunson
Don Ratcliffe
Leticia Worley
Claire Johnson
Julia Burns
Rhonda Green
Heather Walker
Patty Dressel
Bob Rich
Kurt Liffman
Angela Davies
Fleur Rubens
Ella Gilbert
Cheryl Kaulfuss
Tom Knowles
Kevin & Nola Harbison
Helen Moss
William Burgher
Graham Day
Shawn Whelan
Di Bryan
Annie Delaney
Julia Blunden
Fan Ho Tsang
Clare Davoren
Monique Monnier
Brooke Hutchinson
Shweta Jayasree

1,000 Signatures

512 Signatures

Will you sign?

Showing reactions

  • Trish St Clair
    signed 2022-09-01 17:55:03 +1000
  • Neil Earnshaw
    signed 2022-09-01 17:43:10 +1000
  • Judy Gunson
    signed 2022-09-01 17:42:41 +1000
  • Don Ratcliffe
    signed 2022-09-01 17:35:47 +1000
  • Leticia Worley
    signed 2022-09-01 17:33:17 +1000
  • Claire Johnson
    signed 2022-09-01 17:23:28 +1000
  • Julia Burns
    signed 2022-09-01 17:13:39 +1000
  • Rhonda Green
    signed 2022-09-01 17:10:24 +1000
  • Heather Walker
    signed 2022-09-01 17:08:58 +1000
  • Patty Dressel
    signed 2022-09-01 17:02:47 +1000
  • Bob Rich
    signed 2022-09-01 17:01:24 +1000
  • Kurt Liffman
    signed 2022-09-01 16:56:10 +1000
  • Angela Davies
    signed 2022-09-01 16:54:02 +1000
  • Fleur Rubens
    signed 2022-09-01 16:48:19 +1000
  • Ella Gilbert
    signed 2022-09-01 16:34:16 +1000
  • Cheryl Kaulfuss
    signed 2022-09-01 16:29:31 +1000
  • Tom Knowles
    signed 2022-09-01 16:27:00 +1000
  • Kevin & Nola Harbison
    signed 2022-09-01 16:24:45 +1000
  • Helen Moss
    signed 2022-09-01 16:24:12 +1000
  • William Burgher
    signed 2022-09-01 16:23:26 +1000
  • Graham Day
    signed 2022-09-01 16:20:53 +1000
  • Shawn Whelan
    signed 2022-09-01 16:16:10 +1000
  • Di Bryan
    signed 2022-09-01 16:15:26 +1000
  • Annie Delaney
    signed 2022-09-01 16:15:08 +1000
  • Julia Blunden
    signed 2022-09-01 16:13:31 +1000
  • Fan Ho Tsang
    signed 2022-08-30 19:44:06 +1000
  • Clare Davoren
    signed 2022-08-30 19:00:12 +1000
  • Monique Monnier
    signed 2022-08-30 15:28:52 +1000
  • Brooke Hutchinson
    signed 2022-08-30 15:03:25 +1000
  • Shweta Jayasree
    signed 2022-08-29 17:46:51 +1000