Skip navigation

Add Your Name: A Community Climate Adaptation Fund for Victoria

To prepare for locked-in climate impacts, we need ongoing funding for community-led adaptation work. 

Will you call on the Victorian government to support communities in building resilience to climate impacts?


When it comes to tackling the climate crisis, every inch of a degree of warming that we can prevent by rapidly reducing emissions still matters. But climate impacts like bushfires, floods, drought and extreme weather are already inflicting blows on communities around the country. We know we need to prepare for a certain amount of warming that is locked in.

The majority of funding to address climate impacts is currently put into disaster relief, but we can’t only be on a reactive footing to climate impacts. Communities want funding in advance of climate disasters to build resilience and lessen the damage of impacts when they hit.

We call on the Victorian government to establish a permanent Victorian Community Climate Adaptation Fund (VCCAF). The fund would distribute money annually to community groups that apply to undertake localised adaptation and resilience projects. This approach would help the government meet its obligations to the Victorian Climate Change Act (2017) and ensure Victorian communities can enhance their capacity to adapt to impacts.

When the Victorian government has provided one-off grant programs for communities to carry out adaptation work in the past, they have been dramatically oversubscribed. It is clear that there is strong demand for support of local solutions that empower communities.

The government can build on its previous successful grant scheme models by establishing a permanent VCCAF. The nature of the fund would take into account the highly localised nature of climate impacts, and accordingly take a bottom-up approach of dispersing money to local groups that know the unique needs of their communities well.

Add your name to show your support for a permanent Victorian Community Climate Adaptation Fund.

Who's signing
Max Smith
Lenora Lippmann
Seona Gunn
Julie Nicholson
Heather Barrett
Carly Dober
Mark Singer
Georgina Gascoigne
Nikkola Mikocki-Bleeker
Ande Bunbury
Karen Furniss
Peter Farrar
David Williams
Marina Lewis
Rhonda Cotsell
Deviani Segal
Terry Cooper
Jane Routley
Karen Pomeranz
Kerrie Barry
Dr Ken Marriott
Robert Marston
Patrick Bonne
Timothy Mullen
Kevin Devers
Peter McCaw
Barbara J Fraser
Vicky Ellmore

500 Signatures

235 Signatures

Will you sign?

Showing reactions

  • Max Smith
    signed 2023-12-15 09:35:31 +1100
  • Lenora Lippmann
    signed 2023-12-15 09:29:38 +1100
  • Seona Gunn
    signed 2023-12-15 09:27:15 +1100
  • Julie Nicholson
    signed 2023-12-15 09:20:43 +1100
  • Heather Barrett
    signed 2023-12-15 09:14:02 +1100
  • Carly Dober
    signed 2023-12-15 09:12:31 +1100
  • Mark Singer
    signed 2023-12-15 09:10:04 +1100
  • Georgina Gascoigne
    signed 2023-12-15 09:06:10 +1100
  • Nikkola Mikocki-Bleeker
    signed 2023-11-21 16:17:25 +1100
  • Ande Bunbury
    signed 2023-11-20 16:03:53 +1100
  • Karen Furniss
    signed 2023-11-15 14:13:05 +1100
  • Peter Farrar
    signed 2023-11-15 11:54:03 +1100
  • David Williams
    signed 2023-11-14 20:29:00 +1100
  • Marina Lewis
    signed 2023-11-14 14:44:08 +1100
  • Rhonda Cotsell
    signed 2023-11-14 14:16:57 +1100
  • Deviani Segal
    signed 2023-11-14 08:27:05 +1100
  • Terry Cooper
    signed 2023-11-14 08:12:14 +1100
  • Jane Routley
    signed 2023-11-14 08:11:41 +1100
  • Karen Pomeranz
    signed 2023-11-14 07:57:45 +1100
  • Kerrie Barry
    signed 2023-11-14 06:23:47 +1100
  • Dr Ken Marriott
    signed 2023-11-13 23:24:58 +1100
  • Robert Marston
    signed 2023-11-13 18:31:21 +1100
  • Patrick Bonne
    signed 2023-11-13 18:24:47 +1100
  • Timothy Mullen
    signed 2023-11-13 18:18:11 +1100
  • Kevin Devers
    signed 2023-11-13 17:06:32 +1100
  • Peter McCaw
    signed 2023-11-13 16:59:20 +1100
  • Barbara J Fraser
    signed 2023-11-13 13:50:11 +1100
  • Vicky Ellmore
    signed 2023-11-09 15:10:26 +1100